Home > Blogging > Mad Men my personal Obsession.

Mad Men my personal Obsession.

I am totally obsessed with the TV series Mad Men. It has truly become a cultural phenomenon. In only four seasons,  Mad Men mania is everywhere.   I am really consumed by it as strange as it may sound.  I don’t remember ever having such a strong cathartic reaction to a TV show.   My passion for advertising and my love of the early 60’s, especially fashion and design may have something to do with it.   Most of the furniture in my house is from the 50’s and 60’s.  In my living room I have my father’s matching sofa and arm-chair as well as another side chair which happens to be in a painting I had commissioned by one of my favorite illustrators, Mario Wagner.   My father  had these pieces in his bachelor pad before he married my mom.  Not that different from the furniture in Don Draper’s apartment after his divorce (season 4) don’t want to give too much away.  In my bedroom, I have my maternal grandparents bedroom set.  Two matching wood side tables, a tall standing dresser and another dresser with a matching mirror.

Art, photography, graphic design and advertising played an important part of my upbringing.   We are four kids and back in the 90’s all four of us were working in advertising.  We use to all sit around the dinner table and all talk about what we were working on.  Today,  only my brother and myself, me indirectly, are working in the field.  My brother Scott, founded this little advertising agency a few years ago, that he named after some  kind of frog, a StrawberryFrog.  It’s a little agency that you might have heard of.  He has a few offices here and there around the world.  In fact, Scott kind of looks like Don physically but is not at all like him. Yes, he’s also a creative director but nothing like Don.  My brother is also really good-looking.  Not sure a sister can say that about a brother but he is or at least all the girls tell me he is.  Scott for one, doesn’t drink.   Well he drinks but not all as much as Don and never at the office or in the morning. He also never smoked, cigarettes.  My brother is also married to a beautiful blond.  I know what you are thinking, Betty.  No, my sister-in-law is not at all like Betty.  She’s the one that wears the pants in their family and she doesn’t ride horses.

I am getting off track here, back to Mad Men.  If you are one of the rare people who have not seen the show, I can’t say anything bad about it.    Mad Men really depicts the advertising  industry  during that era to a T, all the good, the bad and the ugly.   You really get a behind the scenes view of really what went on in the industry and in life in general during that time.    Everyone in the show drinks and smokes way more than I could have even imagined.  I remember during the first episode of season one how the smoking and drinking upstage everything else.  I was almost holding my breath for fear the smoke would transcend from the TV into my living room.  With each season we find ourselves being more and more drawn in.   I have yet to see the last episodes of season four and when I do, I know that I will be thinking only of one thing and that is,  how long before season five comes out?


Categories: Blogging
  1. Judy Brown
    February 3, 2011 at 12:30 am

    AMC sez no Season 5 til 2012!
    PETITION: BRING BACK MAD MEN IN 2011. Sign 4 Don Draper!
    http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/mm_s5/

  1. February 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Leave a Reply

