Home > Business > In times like these, we all need to stay positive

In times like these, we all need to stay positive

Yes, times are tough and the business of illustration is no exception. Rather than crawl under a rock and give up, I have decided to work that much harder and stay that much more positive. As an agent, its kind of my responsibility or at least it is my philosophy.

So here at AGM, we have rolled up our sleeves and are treating this “Recession” as just another big challenge and god knows, I love challenges. I know that so many people are affected out there and often illustrators are at the bottom of the food chain when it comes to work. Rather than complain about no jobs coming in or worrying about it, why not take control over the things you can take control of.

Obama, has promised to do something about the recession so all we need to do is take care of what we have control over.

For me, I am sending out way more emails, updating my website regularly and surfing the net to find new ways to market my gang. I have recently produced a beautiful new promo that will be shipped out to clients this week. I am going after other markets and generating interested in the illustrators of AGM as never before. Basically I am doing all that I can and not worrying about what is out of my control. There is so much that I can do that I barely have time to write this blog. That said, maybe this is a great time for you to update your site, perfect your style, take a class or join Facebook. Its also probably a good time to realize that times are changing and that maybe you should have other backup plans for when times are slow. I know many illustrators that teach, work as designers, paint.

All this to say that now is probably a great time to get busy, that is if you have the time.

Categories: Business Tags: , ,
  1. March 4, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    A genuine thanks for those words.
    James Ferraro
    http://www.gat5art.com

  2. March 19, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Anna

    Great perspective and encouragement. I’m sure your outlook reminds the illustrators you represent that they are in good hands. It sounds like though the economy is tough, you are not bailing and seem to have kept them a priority. Not surprising to me but in this day and age, people like you are uncommon.

    And your point that we are not in control resonates greatly for me. Perhaps that’s a caveat of these economic times. We simplify our lives, prioritize, consider our greater purpose in this life, and cherish our friendships like never before. And this is a pretty easy time to discover who your true friends really are.

    Blessings.

    • March 20, 2009 at 11:58 am

      Hi Barry,

      How nice to receive this kind of feedback from you.
      Means a lot.
      Anna🙂

  3. April 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Great post! I agree 100% with that.

    My husband and I have certainly felt the results of the bad economy. With him just losing his job after Christmas, my freelance jobs drying up and job interviews that result in nothing, we can’t allow ourselves to worry, be angry or depressed. We must push ourselves even harder and remember that everyday is a new day!

    I posted a similar topic back in March after losing out on a job. http://www.melindastanley.com/blog/?p=27

    Again, great article! I really enjoy reading your blog, Anna.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

