Home > Business > How did we ever survive before email?

How did we ever survive before email?

It’s funny to think back to how we use to work or communicate before email. At the time being in sales and business development I use to spend quite a bit of time on the phone or on the road. I have always had a very personalize approach to business and my relationship with clients and potential clients. Back before email and before I started AGM, I used to make so many phone calls that I actually got pimples on the side of my chin from the phone resting on it.

When I did start AGM a few years later I continued to make a lot of calls but the receptionist was replace with voice mail. How I hated voice mail back then. You could never speak to anyone and the chances that people would actually call you back were quite slim. I would come up with a very creative sales pitch for the goods I was selling at the time. As I worked in advertising and made a lot of cold calls.

Then came along email. I had my first address back in 1996 even thought I didn’t have a clue how to use it, it was there. Today 14 years later, I can hardly imagine working or even surviving without email. It has become part of my daily routine as is brushing my teeth or washing my face. I check my emails before I got to bed and first thing when I wake up. To make things worse or better I should say, I have a BlackBerry Bold and can send and receive emails even when my laptop is closed. I mainly use my email for work but it has slowly crept into personal life as well. I tend to use it even more than the telephone. The down side of email is that I rarely get to meet my clients face to face or talk to them on the phone anymore. When I do call clients some times, they act kind of strange and are wondering why I didn’t just send an email. I tell them that I like to keep in touch and talking to them on the phone makes working with them a little bit more personal and professional.

So how did we survive without email, well in fact we did just fine. I shook a lot of hands, got to see some great creative offices and made all kinds of friends in the same industry. I traveled a lot more, ate in great restaurants and visited some very exciting cities. Too bad we don’t get to do too much of that anymore.

Categories: Business Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

