Home > How to > How do I find the artists I represent

How do I find the artists I represent

I am often asked how I find the artists that I represent, so I decided to share this not so secret information with you… I find them in magazines, in newspapers, on the Internet, on murals, in annuals and on blogs. Yes that’s right I actively search high and low for talent to represent. I hunt them down!

More commonly now I visit various websites that I have bookmarked over the years. I read the updates and the news. I check out portfolios and click on a blog or two. I look to see who is up to what and what is up to par. I search for a feeling, best described as “love at first sight”. While browsing I hope that somewhere, something will jump out at me.

I have been doing this since back to when I first started my agency some 12 years ago, this February. When I started back in 1996 my fingers did the walking but not on my keyboard. Back then I did indeed have a website but I really didn’t know how it worked nor was I very familiar with the Internet. My source for finding new artists was limited to the printed page. CA magazine was always a source for inspirations as was Applied Arts and others. Their Illustration and Photography annuals were where a place of inspiration.

I ended up taking on artist that where not very well known or just starting out. For some reason I found it more challenging and appealing to represent someone new. So for the longest time, I started searching the graduates or the recent graduates in illustration. Word got around that I was taking on illustrators that had very little or no experience and I started getting inundated with requests. I learned later that I was almost the only one out there that was willing to invest the time, energy and money to take on someone just starting out. The fact that they had no professional experience really did not matter to me if they had a style that I loved. I rarely read CV’s that are sent to me. I focus on the work!

In the past… Since we are based in Canada, my search for artist remained well within our borders. The only artist that I thought I could represent back then where Canadian. Over time as the Internet came of age AGM no longer limited itself to only represented Canadian talent. It was such a liberating feeling to be able to represent artist no matter where they lived. Our motto became “There are no more borders to separate us from our clients and artists only time zones”.

Categories: How to Tags: , , ,
  1. January 15, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I have to say that I’m very happy and proud to be with AGM it has been a wonderful journey and wonderful experiences as come to me. Anna trusted my talent and put her faith in my illustration style. She’s always open to the evolution of my style.
    I saw AGM growing along with my experience and creativity.

    thanks Anna

    katy

  2. July 27, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Hello. Perhaps it´s difficult, but I´ll try. Please, see the art of my blog. I am new and, I think, different and with recognizable style. Well, I trust on me. Greetings

  3. November 11, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Thanks for the Inspiring article! Im an artist from london currently studying my MA in Fine Art; Painting. I would love for you to see my work and know your thoughts. If you could spare a few momennts you would make my day!

  4. December 9, 2008 at 1:21 am

    Wonderful article(s), AGM. I have been in the apparel industry for many years and have recently started building an illustration portfolio. I just picked up on your blog a few weeks ago and greatly value the time you put forth in making advice available to aspiring and professional illustrators.

    Cheers, Perry

    • December 9, 2008 at 1:50 pm

      Really happy that my blog helps you out.
      best of luck to you.
      anna

  5. January 14, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Greetings Anna,

    Please peruse my gallery and if you like what you see, I’d love to have you represent me. Now who’s hunting whom? I’ve created about 50 paperback covers in the last decade, but I’m open to other applications of my talent.

    Vin

  6. January 17, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Anna,

    I’ve often wondered if I could benefit from being represented. I came across your article and thought I would contact you with a link to my web site. Let me know if feel that you could market my skills.

    Kind regards,
    BJ Nartker

  7. February 23, 2009 at 5:27 am

    I have been looking for someone to represent me. Please have a look at my work and let me know if you could be of help.

    Looking forward to your reply,

    Regards,
    Faiza

  8. December 4, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Well I am artist and I live in paris and this is my work… If you feel this work some how you like to work with… This is my email [REMOVED]@hotmail.com… I wish you a wonderful day… Ayad

  9. September 13, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Do you still represent artists? I’ve been letting customers (mostly High End Interior Designers and High Fashion Designers) come up with their own inspiration and design the piece. I facilitate the painting with heirloom quality materials. I’ve been doing this for 15 years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

